

April 27, 2021

## Via Email: justin.trudeau@parl.gc.ca

The Right Honourable Prime Minister of Canada Office of the Prime Minister 80 Wellington Street Ottawa, ON K1A 0A2

Dear Prime Minister Trudeau:

## Re: Bill C-21, An Act to Amend Certain Acts and to Make Certain Consequential Amendments

Council for the City of Temiskaming Shores adopted the resolution below at its regular meeting on April 20, 2021, to support the Town of Kingsville's request regarding Bill C-21, An Act to amend certain Acts and to make certain consequential amendments (firearms).

<u>Resolution No. 2021-180</u> Moved by: Councillor Jelly Seconded by: Councillor Hewitt

Whereas municipalities have never been responsible for gun control laws in Canada; and

Whereas law-abiding Temiskaming Shores residents who own legal handguns have already been thoroughly vetted through the CFSC, PAL and ATT applications; and

Whereas illegal gun owners and smugglers do not respect postal codes; and

Whereas if one municipality enacts a ban and not a neighbouring municipality, this will create a patchwork of by-laws; and

Whereas a municipal ban would be difficult to enforce and easy to get around.

Now therefore be it resolved that The Corporation of the City of Temiskaming Shores hereby supports the Town of Kingsville's opposition to the adoption of any by-laws restricting the possession, storage and transportation of legally obtained handguns; and

Be it further resolved that this resolution be forwarded to the following public officials: The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada; The Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario; Andrea Horwath, Leader of the Official Opposition; The Honourable Erin O'Toole, Leader of Official Opposition; The Honourable Anthony Rota, MP Nipissing-Timiskaming; and John Vanthof, MPP Timiskaming—Cochrane.

## Carried

Please accept this correspondence for your information and consideration.

Sincerely,

Blagn

Logan Belanger Municipal Clerk Ibelanger@temiskamingshores.ca

Enclosure

C.c.

The Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario The Honourable Erin O'Toole, Leader of Official Opposition Andrea Horwath, Leader of the Official Opposition The Honourable Anthony Rota, MP Nipissing-Timiskaming John Vanthof, MPP Timiskaming—Cochrane Town of Kingsville