

May 7, 2021

Premier Doug Ford Premier of Ontario Legislative Building Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1A1

Dear Premier Ford:

At the meeting held on April 7, 2021, the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Matachewan passed Resolution 2021-064 requesting that the Province of Ontario reverse their decision on the closure of Youth Justice Facilities in Northeastern communities.

A copy of Resolution 2021-064 is attached. Your consideration and support of this resolution would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely

Barbara Knauth

✓ Deputy Clerk Treasurer

Cc: Honourable Todd Smith, Minister of Children, Community and Social Services Honourable Sylvia Jones, Minister of Indigenous Affairs All Municipalities with the Province of Ontario

Phone: 705-565-2274

Fax: 705-565-2564

THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWNSHIP OF MATACHEWAN



P.O. Box 177, Matachewan, Ontario P0K 1M0

DATE: April 7, 2021

RESOLUTION #: 2021-064

Moved by:

Seconded by:

WHEREAS the MeeQuam Youth Residence in Cochrane is one of the facilities that will be closing effective April 30; and

WHEREAS children aged 12 to 17 from the northeastern communities will be impacted by this closure. These are children who have increased needs yet limited access to much needed set of services and support that assist them with their transition to productive andflourishing adulthood; and

WHEREAS with the closure of the MeeQuam Youth Residence, these vulnerable children will find themselves in a facility hundred and thousands of kilometers away from their community and their families; and

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Matachewan requests that the Province of Ontario reverse their decision to close the youthjustice facility in Cochrane, known as MeeQuam Youth Residence, as these vulnerable children need to be as close as possible to their families and communities.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT this Resolution be forwarded to the Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario, the Honourable Todd Smith, Minister of Children, Community and Social Services; Honourable Sylvia Jones, Minister of Indigenous Affairs; and all municipalities within the Province of Ontario.

		COUNCILLOR	YEA	NAY	PID
CARRIED	1	Ms. A. Commando-Dubé			
	V	Mayor_			
AMENDED		Mr. N. Costello			
		Deputy Mayor			
DEFEATED		Mr. G. Dubé			
		Councillor			
TABLED		Ms. S. Ruck		Γ	
		Councillor			
		Mr. A. Durand			
		Councillor	1	1	

Anne Commando Dubé

Barbara Knauth

Aayor/

Deputy Clerk Treasurer

copy of the original.