

The Corporation of the Town of Tecumseh

December 10, 2020

The Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario Legislative Building, Queens Park Toronto, ON M7A 1A1

Dear Mr. Ford

Re: Bill 229, Protect, Support and Recover from COVID-19 Act, Schedule 6, Conservation Authorities Act

The Council of the Town of Tecumseh, at its regular meeting held Tuesday, December 08, 2020, passed the following resolution:

That The Council of The Town of Tecumseh supports the recommendation:

That the Province of Ontario delay proclamation of Schedule 6 of Bill 229, Protect, Support and Recover from COVID-19 Act (Budget Measures); and

That the Province continue to work with conservation authorities to find workable solutions to reduce red tape and create conditions for growth; and

That the Province respect the current conservation authority and municipal relationships; and

That the Province embrace their long-standing partnership with the conservation authorities and provide them with the tools and financial resources they need to effectively implement their watershed management role; and

That a copy of this resolution be sent to the Premier of Ontario, Minister of Finance, Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks; Local MPPs, ERCA, AMO and the area municipalities.

Thank you in advance for considering Tecumseh Council's request.

Yours very truly,

Laura Moy, Dipl.M.M., CMMIII HR Professional

Director Corporate Services & Clerk

LM/pb

cc: The Honourable Rod Phillips, Minister of Finance (minister.fin@ontario.ca)

The Honourable Jeff Yurek, Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks (minister.mecp@ontario.ca)

Mr. Percy Hatfield, MPP, Windsor-Tecumseh (Phatfield-qp@ndp.on.ca)

Mr. Taras Natyshak, MPP, Essex (tnatyshak-qp@ndp.on.ca)

Mr. Rick Nicholls, MPP, Chatham-Kent-Essex (rick.nicholls@pc.ola.org)

Mr. David Epp, MP, Chatham-Kent-Leamington (dave.epp@parl.gc.ca)

Mr. Irek Kusmierczyk, MP, Windsor-Tecumseh (<u>irek.kusmierczyk@parl.gc.ca</u>)

Mr. Chris Lewis, MP, Essex (chris.lewis@parl.gc.ca)

Town of Amherstburg, Attention: Ms. Paula Parker, Municipal Clerk/Risk Manager (pparker@amherstburg.ca)

Town of Essex, Attention: Robert Auger, Clerk, Manager of Legal and Legislative Services (rauger@essex.ca)

Town of Lakeshore, Attention: Kristen Newman, Director of Legislative and Legal Services/Clerk (knewman@lakeshore.ca)

Town of LaSalle, Attention: Ms. Agatha Robertson, Director of Council Services/Clerk (arobertson@lasalle.ca)

Town of Leamington, Attention: Brenda M. Percy, CMO, Municipal Clerk/Manager of Legislative Services (bpercy@leamington.ca)

Town of Kingsville, Attention: Jennifer Astrologo, Director of Corporate Services/Clerk (jastrologo@kingsville.ca)

City of Windsor, Attention: Valerie Critchley, Clerk (vcritchley@city.windsor.on.ca)

Association of Municipalities of Ontario (amo@amo.on.ca)

Essex Region Conservation Authority, Attn: Mr. Tim Byrne, Interim General Manager/Secretary-Treasurer (tbyrne@erca.org)